Welcome to Hardwick House

Small Goals

So, here I am, once again shocked that it’s Friday.  How does the week fly by so damn fast! But that was discussed couple weeks ago hehe

Last month a friend asked me to join her in a challenge – a personal challenge – to get ourselves writing, bust out the words without worry of any details and content. Just get words on the page.

I set a goal for myself. When she first asked me to join her, I thought 650 words a day would be a good challenge. I work full time, five days a week. I have step sons and homework to deal with, dinner to make, a house to clean. Hell, at that time, I barely had time to sit and write like I wanted. Then, for my birthday, my mother gave me an awesome gift: her notebook laptop.

With this awesome little thing in my possession, its lime green slime cover making me smile, I sat down and thought about what I could really do. I could average more words if I really wanted to push.  And I did. My goal for Mayhem is 31,000 words, 1k a day, just shy of the 1667 needed for NaNoWrMo. Not much to some I’m sure, but  I’m happy to say that although today is only day three, I’m well a head of schedule with 5k under my belt.

I know that doesn’t sound like much, but to me its thrilling. Knowing I can do that makes me want to do more. The more the story flows out, the more I see clearly, the more I think about where things could go. As I write my first draft, I’m keeping notes and discussing possibilities to be considered when it’s finished. No going back, no editing.

I finally understand the importance of “put ass in chair and write” and it’s a wonderful feeling 🙂

Comments on: "Small Goals" (11)

  1. That’s pretty impressive and a great start!

    Hopefully everyone will give you a little time to yourself to focus – having a laptop at least lets you escape to other parts of the house.

    My computer is in a high-trafficked area and it was always distracting having people walk back and forth behind me.

    • Thanks Matthew 🙂

      My hubby works at night and with the boys being teens, they don’t need constant attention, though they may need constant supervision 😉 boys will be boys…but that’s a story for another time. hehe

      My console PC is in a secluded room, which is actually what made it so hard to get to. the fact that I’d go in there and forget about everything else — “did you know the water’s still running?” “I think my dinner is done” — were common phrases I’d hear quickly followed by my “oh shit.” as I jumped up out of my chair. lol It’s nice that I can now write at the table or even in the bedroom on weekends while Michael is on his laptop or playing Xbox 360 🙂

  2. Woohoo! Like Matthew said, 1000 word/day is a great start! You will have that first draft finished before you know it!

  3. I’m so excited for you 🙂

  4. I like your push-through it approach, it should really help to keep your momentum going. It’s not a crime to double back if you really write yourself into a corner, but not getting stuck in the inconsequentials sounds like it’s paying dividends, as well as beings loads of fun. 🙂

    I love my laptop too…

    • My hubby kept telling me i should by one, but I wouldn’t. What can I say, I’m a little cheap and laptops can be expensive hehe but now that I see how awesome it is…I think an upgrade will be required for Xmas 😉

  5. Yay, you can do it. I’m getting ready to get a piece started over this Bank Holiday Weekend. Currently getting myself not only stocked up but psyched so I have no excuse but to stick butt in chair.

    On a brighter side, the beginning part is all mapped out and a vague concept of where to go after with the overall goal. So with luck I might actually get a full first adult novel draft out of the whole idea. Its going to be fun to see where it goes although at the minute I might look at setting it up by chapters for release that way. With luck the OWG will help make it easier to work on but with the feedback its going to get filed with the relevant piece and then await working on until I have that completed first draft. Otherwise I’ll look at it and keep reworking the same piece.

  6. good stuff ER where is the update the final review since it is june ya know 🙂

  7. […] 3. E.R.’s Mind Madness ER writes about a lot of things, her pets, her family… I love reading it all. […]

Leave a Reply

