Welcome to Hardwick House

As a new writer, I’m learning that this shit ain’t so easy lol You have an idea, you want to write it out, you think it would be good – you’d read it. But then you sit down and you start to write and they hit you, the questions: Who, what, when, where, why, and for God’s sake HOW!

I can’t tell you how many times in my short amount of writing time I’ve asked myself these stupid annoying little questions. It really does amaze me how genuine authors do it. I think back to the books I’ve read, the weaving and the twisting, and find myself thinking…nothing. Why? Well, what can I say, I’m in shock at their ability to do it so well πŸ™‚

The more questions I ask, the more answers I get that only lead to more questionsΒ  – Would he do that or would she? Should she meet him here or there? He wouldn’t say that would he? Couldn’t that wait till later? How the hell am I going to get her there, and why is there cheese!

There is however a good side to all these pesky questions. Little by little, I’m getting to know the voices that live in my head and talk to me through out the day. As I listen to their answers, telling me what they would do, where they would go, and how they would get there, I’m learning the ins and outs of their personalities, qualities, and mannerisms that I hope to someday show the world by using words on a page.

 

Comments on: "It’s all in the details…" (15)

  1. I keep a notebook where I jot down notes. When I’ve been aware of a plot-point coming up but haven’t yet had the feel for how it is supposed to transpire – all the pieces moving of their own accord – I always go back to motivations.

    I think, “What will each of these characters logically do or want to do?”

    That’s usually the answer and it really facilitates the rest.

    When it becomes hard, I usually realize I’m trying to move characters rather than allow them to act freely.

    The reason these kinds of issues come up is because as a writer, you’re considering plot and outcomes. You know what is supposed to happen. But your characters know *why* – and that’s the important part to come to understand. Once the *why* is understood, the *what* will follow.

  2. It usually takes me most of the first draft before I really understand all the subtle nuances of my characters. Then the second draft gets rolling! Everybody does it differently, but it always takes me some time to warm up.

  3. Don’t be disheartened, listening to your inner voices is a skill that takes time to master (I’ll tell you when I have). All great authors were newbie aspiring writers at one time – they are no better/different than you, they’ve just had a lot more practice and some very thorough editing…

    As for how, Matthew’s got some sound ideas above, let your characters do your thinking for you, and I bet you’ll be pleasantly surprised (or unpleasantly, depending on the character). πŸ™‚

  4. Finding your voice takes time, like TJ said, but finding the voice of your characters is just as time consuming. Mine tend to ferment in my mind for a while, to grow and turn into the characters that I put down on paper. My advice is to just start writing, don’t question anything, just write for a while. You’ll be amazed at what your characters will do without even thinking about it.

  5. You’ll get there, I keep agonising over the opening sequence, planning, replanning, working out actions, who is who, is the plot far fetched, will it translate with the action or will it go into the realms of impossibility.

    Getting to know the characters is a lot of fun and when you get to know them better you’ll find that its a ton of fun as they flesh themselves out. Keep on going.

  6. Keep on writing, you’ll get there πŸ™‚ I love getting to know my characters and the turns and twists in my stories always surprise me. Sometimes I throw in something that seems random, and bam, it’s super important later and even I didn’t know it. Trust your subconcious. It’s your friend.

    Julie/Firewolf

  7. Scenes rolling out in my head constantly and I need to jot them down when they start or I go mad. lol
    I feel your pain…but I’ve learned not to over think things too much. I get my basic plot jotted down…character profiles with pics and then I start getting those scenes written…things usually roll out as I go.

  8. It’s often the little things about your characters that will tell the most. A writer once advised me to know them inside out, even down to what kind of coffee they would order if they walked into Starbucks. Think about it…questions like this will say a lot about the character.

  9. I keep a notebook (at least one, if not two or three) with me at all times. I also keep one on my nightstand. I often find characters have flashes of brililance at two in the morning. LOL The more questions that arise and that you find the answers for, the stronger your story will be and the better you’ll know the characters. You’re diving deeper into what makes them unique, what makes them think and react. You’re “fleshing them out” and that’s the most important thing to do before writing. I’d say you’re on the right track. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

