Welcome to Hardwick House

Bad News

Well, nothing like getting back into the groove of things with bad news…

Took Puss to the vet last week, his lymph notes were getting a little large again. They checked him out, took some blood and said that while his white count was down he may have caught a cold, or have allergies. But if that wasn’t it, there was another option: Rescue Therapy. Basically that means we start treatments all over – once a week. We just got down to once a month.

Well, today was his actual treatment day. The prognosis was not good. As I already noticed, his lymph notes are already bigger than they were last week. They suggested we start the “Rescue Therapy” next week.

I came home, slow tears running down my cheeks. I don’t want to make my dog go though anymore treatments and he may not even respond this time around. So, after much discussion with Michael, though it’s mainly my decision since he’s my dog, we’re going to keep going with the monthly treatments till he’s gone.

They’re giving my boy 2 months at the most. Something inside me says it won’t be that long.

My heart is breaking.

Comments on: "Bad News" (7)

  1. I am so sorry. You are in my thoughts. Let me know if I can do anything at all or if you just need a virtual shoulder. I wish I had magic words to make this easier for you. But, I am sorry, in truth, there just aren’t any. So, the best I can do is let you know that I am here for you. Head scratches for Puss.

  2. bryden yeo said:

    I’m so sorry about Puss. I know it doesn’t help but I really am. Right now the best thing for you to do is talk about it to get it out and make the poor little puppy as comfortable as you can. It’s never easy watching someone you love so much go down hill, but he’s still here for now right? Cuddle him and give him lots of love and attention. If you need to talk about it you know you have lots of people on the board and I’m sure you have people at home as well, your hubby and family and friends. Take it one day at a time, and if you can’t do that then go for a minute at a time. you are a strong lady and Puss is so lucky to have a loving parent like you 🙂 You can get through this girl I promise.

  3. Sad day 😦

  4. I’m sorry to hear about Puss, seeing a close companion struggling with illness is always hard, regardless of how many legs they have…

  5. I’m sorry to hear that. It’s always heartbreaking to know we’re close to losing someone (and pets are “someones” definitely) we love, and to know we’re powerless to help beyond a certain point.

    I remember reading through Tolkien’s extensive backstories released by his son over the years, and the elves who possessed immortality were puzzled that the Creator considered the gift of *mortality* to humans (and other living creatures) to be greater.

    Perhaps mortality grants us the ability to appreciate all that we know and love and touch in the space of our lives.

    But it never makes the knowing of losing others easy.

    Take care and I wish the best for all of you. I’m certain Puss knows you love him and care and are helping him all that you can.

  6. I know it won’t help but at least you’re aware so that you can spend the quality time with him to say goodbye. It’s hard losing someone close to you that you talk to, share your thoughts and emotions with (I share them with my cats) and it’ll be hard when the time comes to let him go.

    My thoughts are with you.

  7. I’ve avoided replying to comments, actually I was avoiding reading the comments in general lol, because I knew they would make me cry, and they did 🙂 But thank you everyone. I appreciate your kind words and thoughts. I take comfort in knowing that others understand the loss of a pet.

    in someways, it’s nice knowing, in others not so much. knowing that he’s slowly dying hurts. But I think if I just woke to a dead dog it wouldn’t be any easier. Either way, this sucks.

Leave a Reply

